Elliot Deutsch Big Band- The Push!

Cover : Elliot Deutsch Big Band- The Push!

This is the long awaited, much anticipated follow-up to Deutsch’s critically acclaimed 2009 debut Weeknight Music.  Proclaimed by Bill Homan to be a “young star in the field of jazz composing and arranging,” Deutsch has assembled a top-notch 16-piece ensemble of the finest musicians in Los Angeles.  The Push! embodies a youthful, exuberant jazz ensemble sound that, while influence by the great records that came before it, pushes the genre in a new and exciting direction.  Every note of the album oozes with the joy Deutsch feels when he stands in front of his world-class band.

Several of the pieces on The Push! have already won awards.  For “50 Piece McChow Down”, Deutsch was awarded ASCAP’s prestigious 2013 Young Jazz Composer Award.   In 2012, Deutsch’s arrangement of “Pure Imagination” received top honors in ASMAC’s Big Band Arranging and Composing Competition.  Following that honor, he was invited to perform at ASMAC’s 75th Anniversary Celebration in front of Los Angeles’ greatest composers and orchestrators, and producer Jason Lee.  Lee contacted Deutsch about producing a new record, putting The Push! into motion.  In 2014, following a successful Kickstarter campaign, Elliot Deutsch Big Band recorded 10 of Deutsch’s pieces at Capitol Studios.

Elliot Deutsch Big Band has been a staple of the LA jazz scene since 2007, performing at all of the cities most famous jazz clubs.  Following the release of The Push!, Elliot Deutsch Big Band is looking forward to taking these new songs to jazz festivals across the country.

Back To Discography


Alto Saxophone: Dan Kaneyuki, Danny Janklow
Tenor Saxophone: Jimmy Emerzian, Colin Kupka
Baritone Saxophone: Caesar Matinez
Trumpet: Jon Bradley, Rob Schaer, Javier Gonzales, Mike Rocha
Trombone: Ryan Dragon, Erm Navarro, Garrett Smith
Bass Trombone: Steve Hughes
Piano: Max Haymer
Bass: Dave Tranchina
Drums: Mike Lindsay
Guest Soloists: Ron Stout, Ken Moran

All songs arranged and orchestrated by Elliot Deutsch
Produced by Jason Lee
Recorded by Steve Genewick at Capitol Studios on June 19, 2014
Mixed by Jason Lee at Patrick Williams Enterprises
Mastered by Sangwook “Sunny” Nam at Jacob’s Well Mastering
Capitol Studios Vice President/Studio Manager Paula Salvatore
Cover Illustrated by Mark Dos Santos and colored by Julio Real
Cover photograph taken by Mandie Bee
Photograph of Max Haymer taken by Andrea Calderwood
All other photographs taken by Brian A. Petersen

Track Listing;
1. Welcome to Deutschland
2. Pure Imagination
3. Test Sample 6
4. 50 Piece McChow Down
5. Polkadots & Moonbeams
6. The Push
7. Boarding Group 5
8. Drop Down
9. The Way You Look Tonight
10. Welcome to Zing Town

Posted in Uncategorized.